Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to automate "Integrate"

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Possibly a dumb question, I am new at this...

I am modelling oxygen diffusion to an array of spheres through a substrate with some heterogeneities. One objective is to integrate oxygen flux to each sphere, report those values, and then afterwards I can look at the distribution of these values to check if we can reasonably claim that they all get more or less the same amount.

So I can do this manually, by creating an "Integral" under Data Sets for each sphere individually and manually selecting and adding all the faces, and then exporting the diffusive flux magnitude. The problem is I need meaningful n values so maybe 100 or more spheres, and this would take a long time of just clicking around to set up (and then I'd have to combine the 100 exported individual data files). Also I'd like to be able to modify the model easily in the future. Is there a way to do this in a more automated way? The spheres themselves are arrayed copies of a single original sphere. Ideally I'd like to end up with one exported file that has a separate value in it for the integrated flux magnitude for each sphere.

Thanks

Mark

4 Replies Last Post 12 gen 2012, 21:31 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 11 gen 2012, 18:06 GMT-5
Hi

I would say you should consider scripting your model via Matlab or an API programming approach

to start you can build a first model in the GUI and then save it as a "m" file, then build ur model based on this m file