Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Unitary vector in a cartesian system

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am a beginner in COMSOL....I have an expression using the unitary vectors of the cartesian basis :
ux = (1,0,0)
uy = (0,1,0
uz = (0,0,1)

What is the script in COMSOL to write ux , uy and uz using a cartesian system ?

In particular my expression is |2* ux + 3*uy - 4*uz| , |...| is the norm of the vector in argument.

I know that the solution for this basic example is to write |...| = sqrt(2^2 + 3^2 + 4^2) but I prefer use the first expression for my calculations (I mean with ux, uy, uz).

Thank you for your help

Claire

3 Replies Last Post 17 lug 2010, 22:38 CEST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 17 lug 2010, 10:49 CEST
Hi

note that ux uy uz are the internal COMSOl notations for the space derivative of the displacement vector, so do your best to keep clear of COMSOLs numerous internal names.

For the rest why not create a function as sqrt(aa^2+bb^2+cc^2) and use aa,bb,cc or whatever other name. Basically in COMSOL you can write in an equation in most if not all fields

Good luck
Ivar
Hi note that ux uy uz are the internal COMSOl notations for the space derivative of the displacement vector, so do your best to keep clear of COMSOLs numerous internal names. For the rest why not create a function as sqrt(aa^2+bb^2+cc^2) and use aa,bb,cc or whatever other name. Basically in COMSOL you can write in an equation in most if not all fields Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 17 lug 2010, 19:49 CEST
Hi Ivar,

Thank you for your response ! It is true that ux, uy and uz are already used by COMSOL for derivation.