Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Solving a boundary value problem in comsol

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am relatively new to COMSOL. I am trying to solve a system of non-linear stationary PDEs. I know that the equations work because I have tested them in MATLAB. I tried a simple test run in the attached example.

d(theta)/dx=constant. theta(0)=0

I expect theta to linearly increase with x. Instead I get oscillatory behavior. What am I missing in the set up?

All help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Padmini

3 Replies Last Post 7 dic 2011, 13:07 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 23 nov 2011, 02:37 GMT-5
Hi

yes and if you change the mesh the oscillations will become denser, just as if you turn on the discretisation and use linear elements it will become triangular: oscillating between two stable conditions ...

Then check the first and the last value (at the two boundaries) and compare two your TWO active boundary conditions

Try a search of on the FORUM, there are several discussion about this earlier (2-3 years ago (with v3.5a at that time)

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi yes and if you change the mesh the oscillations will become denser, just as if you turn on the discretisation and use linear elements it will become triangular: oscillating between two stable conditions ... Then check the first and the last value (at the two boundaries) and compare two your TWO active boundary conditions Try a search of on the FORUM, there are several discussion about this earlier (2-3 years ago (with v3.5a at that time) -- Good luck Ivar

Magnus Ringh COMSOL Employee