Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to set boundary conditions to simulate an cylinder diffraction by an ideal TM plane wave(Comsol4.0 RF)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am just a beginner of Comsol. I tried to simulate dielectric scattering(an cylinder diffraction by an ideal TM plane) by following the tutorial example.

I can create ideal plane wave by setting perodice conditions on the top and bottom boundary. Left bondary is the magnetic field(set Hz=1), right boundary is the Perfect matched layer.

However, if I use the same geometry and configuration of boundary conditions, it would not create an cylinder diffraction pattern. It seems to create cylinder array diffraction pattern.
How to solve this problem?

In addition,in CST(another RF simulation software), one can set "open boundary" to simulate the infinite space. How does Comsol4.0 do if I want to simulate infinite space?

Thanks in advance!

8 Replies Last Post 21 lug 2010, 04:58 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 18 lug 2010, 21:30 GMT-4
For infinite boundary, you can use PML.
Can you upload your mph file?
For infinite boundary, you can use PML. Can you upload your mph file?

Posted: 1 decade ago 19 lug 2010, 09:40 GMT-4
Hi, Zhe Wang,

The attached is my mph file. I put PML around the simulation domain.

As shown in the simulated results, the simulated TM plane wave is not perfect. The plane wave on the top and bottom boundary is not so good.

Do you have any suggestion?

Many thanks,
Hi, Zhe Wang, The attached is my mph file. I put PML around the simulation domain. As shown in the simulated results, the simulated TM plane wave is not perfect. The plane wave on the top and bottom boundary is not so good. Do you have any suggestion? Many thanks,

Posted: 1 decade ago 19 lug 2010, 20:47 GMT-4
Can not open your attached mph file.