Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Coil excitation: Current vs Voltage

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am new to Comsol 4.0 and I am trying to understand how to modelize an electro-magnet. I used the "Magnetic Fields (mf)" physical interface. I get two different results depending whether I use current or voltage in the coil excitation of the "Multi-Turn Coil Domain Settings". The problem is that both simulation should give the same result.

Here's my setup: 1 [in] iron core, 4 [in] copper coil and 2.5 [in] length. The coil is made of 3450 turns of 21 AWG wire (fill factor taken into account) rated at 1.2 [A] max and 42 [Ohm/km]. According to my calculation, the length of the wire is

688 [m] = N * L_average_of_1_turn
= N * 2Pi * {(R_coil - r_core)/2+r}
= N * Pi* (D_coil + D_core)/2

So the total inductance of the coil should be
29 [Ohm] = 688 [m] * 42 [Ohm/km].

With the relation V=RI, I should have a voltage of 35 [V] to have a current of 1.2 [A]. So the simulation shoud give me the same results whether I use voltage or current in the "Coil excitation" section of the "Multi-Turn Coil Domain".

The thing is that 35 [V] gives me 372.5 [Tesla] and 1.2 [A] gives me 0.061 [Tesla]. What could explain that big difference?

The file is attached to this message.

Thank you very much.

Alexandre
Student in mechanical engineering

5 Replies Last Post 2 feb 2011, 17:49 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 16 lug 2010, 14:56 GMT-4
Hi

read carefully the doc and test out the three options in 2D axi, fo the same geometry
a) single rectangle normal surface current ,
b) single turn coil and,
c) multi turn coil.