Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Applying cylindrical coordinate system in comsol

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am studying a 3d transient model to understand the effect of combined Buoyancy-Marangoni convection in a cylindrical geometry. I want to apply the cylindrical coordinates (r, θ, a). As a solution to this, I have changed the default cartesian system (x, y,z) to cylindrical coordinates under component< definitons<cylindrical coordinates. But while postprocessing I am unable to get the resullts in (r, θ, a) coordinate systems. Eg: If we want to take the azimuthal velocity ie Vθ, in the drop down only cartisean variables are available ie Vx, Vy, Vz.

4 Replies Last Post 27 mar 2023, 11:19 GMT-4

Posted: 1 year ago 23 mar 2023, 01:50 GMT-4

I have attached a doc file that contains my doubts with images.Please go through it and suggest me some solutions.

Thank You

I have attached a doc file that contains my doubts with images.Please go through it and suggest me some solutions. Thank You

Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Posted: 1 year ago 23 mar 2023, 11:04 GMT-4

The local coordinate system in the Fluid node is only used to interpret the inputs (that is, Velocity Field and possibly a nonisotropic Thermal Conductivity).

If you want to transform the velocity into a local coordinate system, you can use the Vector Transform node, found under Definitions -> Variable Utilities.

As for your second question, it is better if you can upload your model (or a similar one).

-------------------
Henrik Sönnerlind
COMSOL