Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

need help-- AC power Electromagnetics module,

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
I am santhosh. I am very new to comsol, just started learning the software. I am trying to build an electromagnetic actuator. my problem is how do i give a sinusoidal signal as input. or in general how do i give a time variant sine or cosine signals as input in comsol.
Thank you.

3 Replies Last Post 18 giu 2010, 07:43 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 18 giu 2010, 01:29 GMT-4
Hi

if its a sinus curent you want the write it out

Imax*sin(2*pi*fr*t)

and define "Imax" the current amplitude and "fr" the frequency as constants, then define your time steps accordingly and perform a time run = transient analysis.

but if it is a harmonic response you are after perform a frequecy scan over the desired frequency domain (or at one fixed frequency).

And really read through and do the different exercices in the documentation, they are given step by step, it helps a lot to understand how to use COMSOL

Hope this helps
Ivar
Hi if its a sinus curent you want the write it out Imax*sin(2*pi*fr*t) and define "Imax" the current amplitude and "fr" the frequency as constants, then define your time steps accordingly and perform a time run = transient analysis. but if it is a harmonic response you are after perform a frequecy scan over the desired frequency domain (or at one fixed frequency). And really read through and do the different exercices in the documentation, they are given step by step, it helps a lot to understand how to use COMSOL Hope this helps Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 18 giu 2010, 03:11 GMT-4
Hi,