Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Basic Geometry Problem

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I'm fairly new to COMSOL and am having trouble building proper structures with the built-in geometry tools. Whenever I attempt a few geometry transformations, such as a revolution followed by a sweep and then an extrusion, I find it impossible to connect the structure back onto itself again.

I have attached an example of this general problem with images of the meshed problem region. In the attached file, I attempt to create a single coil of wire with an extrusion for a port attachment (to be used in the Magnetic Fields interface). This is much like the geometry that is imported in the example model: inductor_3d.mph. Using the geometry tool, I sweep a rectangle up in a spiral, revolve off each end face, extrude/sweep the ends out into the same plane, and then extrude to bring the two ends together and complete the loop. Mathematically, I think everything should connect exactly and mesh nicely. In COMSOL, however, there seems to be injected a small amount of error (probably during the spiral sweep?) such that the ends can no longer come back together perfectly. This typically produces an error in the Union step: "Internal error in geometry decomposition." The attached model may not throw that error as currently constructed, but run the mesh tool and you find that the joint connecting the two ends does not come together properly, producing extremely fine mesh in that region and throwing the error: "Failed to respect edge element on geometry edge."