[SOLVED] Failed to find a solution for the initial parameter

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello All,

I am trying to simulate laminar fluid flow and heat transfer throught a small part. I am using a stationary study with a parametric sweep (changing the heat rate parameter). I have an initial pressure condition on the inlet and also a heat source on one side of the model. First I started by simulating only the fluid flow and had no issues, when I went back and added heat transfer in solids and fluids I now have the following error when I try to compute:

"Failed to find a solution for the initial parameter. In Heat transfer: Divergence of the linear iterations. Returned solution is not converged. Not all parameter steps returned."

The computations appears to keep getting stuck at 22% with the GMRES not converging.

I am new to comsol, so I am not sure how exactly to figure out where I am going wrong. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Odette

UPDATE: I found this message in the Log: "Convergence criteria of the segregated solver are met but not all conditions for group Heat transfer are fulfilled.", so I am assuming there is something where with the conditions I set up for the Heat Transfer. However, I have looked and I do not see anything that is missing or wrong. Is there a way I can further isolate what the error is?

8 Replies Last Post 2 nov 2023, 12:14 GMT-4

Posted: 6 months ago 23 ott 2023, 04:15 GMT-4