Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Mixture Model, Laminar Flow (mm) interface - anyone using it?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I wonder if anyone here in the forum is using the Mixture Model, Laminar Flow (mm) interface. I have several issues when using this interface with a fully coupled solver (namely, singular matrices are poppoing out) and I would like to know if anyone else experienced similar problems.

Best,

J

13 Replies Last Post 6 nov 2012, 11:19 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 5 nov 2012, 11:25 GMT-5
Hello J,

I have some experience with this model.

I also had some convergence issues, wich I resolved by introducing Inconsistent Stabilization for the Dispersed Phase. Be aware if your mesh is fine enough.

Also, I used a segregated solver. Do you wanto to use a Fully coupled Solver?

Best Regards,

Rui Silva
Hello J, I have some experience with this model. I also had some convergence issues, wich I resolved by introducing Inconsistent Stabilization for the Dispersed Phase. Be aware if your mesh is fine enough. Also, I used a segregated solver. Do you wanto to use a Fully coupled Solver? Best Regards, Rui Silva

Posted: 1 decade ago 5 nov 2012, 11:34 GMT-5
Hi Rui,

thanks for replying. This interface is giving me hard time right now. After discussing with COMSOL Support I do not have anymore the issue with the singular matrix (using a time-dependent solver solved the issue). On the other hand you are right regarding the mesh. I'm currently running with P2-P1 elements but my model is pretty big (around 4 millions DoF) and is taking a huge amount of RAM on our cluster. With P1-P1 the oscillations in the gradient of gammadot where extremely big.